How to Wean a Toddler

This has been nagging at me for a while, how am I going to wean my toddler without too much drama? I’m already sore due to the pregnancy and since we also co-sleep, I need him to sleep with his Dad instead of nursing in the middle of the night. It’s going to be tricky with a newborn in the bed as it is.  Thankfully, I have time, since I am currently only around 10 weeks.  I found this great video with tips on how to do just this, from one of my favorite natural mamas.

Now, I’ve already sortof started the first part, which is to create a replacement. There have been times when I’ve been gone and he wakes up from a nap wanting to nurse. My mother warmed almond milk, added a little cinnamon and honey and it did the trick. I plan on using it more consistently so that we can get the weaning process going.

Anyone else done it like this? What worked for you?

Leave a Reply

