WAHM Using eBay to Supplement Income

I’m a WAHM, or Work at Home Mom and use eBay to supplement our income. I have a part-time job as a customer service rep which allows me to be home with my son. It has a lot of perks, like not having to drive somewhere, flexible schedules, but since I only do it part-time so as not to be away all day from my boy, we needed extra cash. Along came eBay to the rescue!

I’ve had an account with eBay forever, back in college I’d sell my used books and get some cash back. I even had a store and was very proud of it. Life got complicated however and I stopped using eBay except for the occasional purchase. That all changed last year though. In 2012, things got really tight financially, my husband’s job wasn’t paying as much commission, my hours were erratic and the bills were adding up. I started to find things around the house to sell; perfumes I’d never opened, movies, purses, clothes that were new or barely used, anything I thought would sell. They did sell, and for several months I managed to get a few hundred dollars to help with expenses.

I noticed that the months I slacked off and wasn’t listing much that we’d be back in trouble. I started taking it more seriously, my mother got involved and she’d buy items at discount stores for me to resell. I started researching wholesale, liquidated lots, polished my listing template and so much more. My best friend made me a beautiful logo and banners.

Image

Now I have my own store, LazyBreeze Deals, I list 100-200 items a month and make at least as much, sometimes more, than my paycheck. Its a lot of work, this is not a get-rich scheme, but its work on my own time, that I control in every aspect, and I’m loving it.

Just wanted to share that with all of you, since you’ll be seeing my Twitter feed which is linked to my eBay account and my Facebook page too.  I’ll blog about eBay now and then, among my recipes and other things.

Thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “WAHM Using eBay to Supplement Income

  1. Well I’ll tell you my story……I never really envisioned selling online as a business….But I’m a huge lego collector and one month I started buying legos on ebay well…..Before I knew it I had spent over 3000$ on ebay legos….I thought I didn’t want it to be a $$$ intensive hobby so I started selling the sets I didn’t want or already had….Along with that I started buying toys GI joes a big box G1 transformers I got at an auction….Thing was toys (older toys) aren’t exactly in abundant supply and I really didn’t feel like running around the state for toy auctions….But along with the toys and legos I sold I also sold my old Nintendo and Playstation games…..I had some good ones 30$ 50$ snes 40$ ps1 games etc….Games soon became my sole focus…..Everyone has old video games they don’t want not everyone has old and actually will sell there old legos cheap……I find a lot of games on craigslist yard sales flea markets….Then I’m hoping to start doing this before the holiday season putting up signs on intersections for buying games….Ebay yields more than double my crummy job….HEres my store http://stores.ebay.com/Imperial-Games

  2. I blog often and I seriously thank you for your information.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest.

    I am going to bookmark your website and keep
    checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed
    too.

  3. I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!

Leave a Reply

