The Less Glamorous Side of Pregnancy

Throughout my pregnancy I have consistently been very positive, I’ve had little complaints and not published them much when I do. But it’s now my 8th month, and I feel like complaining about all the little things that are now adding up. Don’t get me wrong, its been a fairly smooth pregnancy and I really have had it good, compared to so many people. Still, its my belly and I’ll cry if I want to!

First of all, the pain in my pelvis and pubic area is driving me nuts. Holy cow, but it hurts to walk, to change positions in bed, to sit cross legged.  Its normal, yes, my body is making room for the baby to come out, fine, but that doesn’t make me feel any better when pain shoots down my thigh when I roll over. I’m seeing a chiropractor twice a week and it helps, however it doesn’t eliminate it completely.  I’d probably need to be adjusted every day before going to bed and sadly, hubby doesn’t have the training. Anyways, its not all skeletal, some of it is muscular, so I’ve been massaging the area, painful as it gets. And this isn’t nice, I’m talking about pain in my pubic area, people, not fun.  Touching myself there is supposed to feel good, not make me want cry in pain and punch someone. We all know our vaginas are going to hurt when we go into labor, but nobody ever tells us it might hurt like we’ve been kicked way before that.

My ankles swell and now, so has my nose! What the hell? It itches, and the worst part of it is it makes me snore so bad my husband has slept on the couch for the last 2 nights. Its horrible, I don’t like it when he leaves, makes me feel like crap. At least, since I have a thin nose to begin with, its not very noticeable to anyone other than myself and hubby. And whoever ends up reading this blog post, which shouldn’t be too many people, phew. There’s nothing I can do about it, which really sucks.

Stretch marks are a bitch.  This is definitely one of the most common complaints, there’s loads of info on what to do but no guarantees anything will work. So, I’ve been using Shea butter, coconut butter, cocoa butter…its a miracle I haven’t developed a huge volcanic zit from all that butter. Frankly, I can deal with zits better, at least they give me the satisfaction of popping them. I’ve been massaging the area, drinking some form of sulfur my father says can help, drinking Vit E, positive thinking, you name it, and the stupid things keep creeping along my tummy. Pisses me off. I will continue to fight them every step of the way however, I just recently got Strivectin SD and that’s supposed to be effective for 93% of women, we’ll see.

Speaking of zits…my back has erupted into lots of small pimples. They itch, I scratch them off with no mercy, or have my hubby pop them, I probably have scars buts since I can’t see them easily, out of sight out of mind. The ones on my cheeks are another matter though. They look like a light rash, lots of small whiteheads that pop in a very mirror-dirtying fashion.   And don’t tell me not to pop my white heads, because I will anyway. In my defense, I have been washing my face with natural soap and baking soda, then putting tightening serums and what not. Its the pregnancy hormones, normally I wouldn’t have these except maybe once a month. Lucky for me, they’re easily covered with make-up and I think the only person who’s really noticed besides myself is my mother.

Did I mention I can be gross? Because yeah, pregnancy isn’t all cute maternity clothes and watching the baby kicking.  Now, every time I get up from lying down, I burp in a very unladylike manner.  No warning, I get up and up it comes. Don’t get me started on the farting! I’m giving myself enemas on a pretty regular basis now, which helps in several ways, but its not pleasant to say the least.

So now that I’ve painted this image of a whining, pimply, swollen, zebra skinned, stinky whale who can’t wait to pop out the little parasite growing in her belly, let me just say…I still think I’m attractive, hubby does too, I dress cute and never leave the house looking like a slob, I love my belly and most of all my baby. I just had to get that all out of my system, have it noted somewhere. If my son ever asks me what I went through during my pregnancy, if he wants the ugly details, or I want to shove them in his face when he becomes an ungrateful teenager, I’ll have it all written down.

2 thoughts on “The Less Glamorous Side of Pregnancy

  1. Wow! You just brought me right back to my pregnancy. Most of the women I’ve talked to claim that they loved being pregnant… that it was so beautiful and wonderful and yada yada yada. Do you know if you are having a boy or a girl?

    I have a little girl who is almost 2 now and my husband and I are starting to get nagged about when we’re going to have the next one. Honestly, I’m not sure if I’m up for another pregnancy. I was sick morning, noon and night for 9-10 months and I didn’t bother to attempt preventing stretch marks so my body and skin will never look the way it did before. I have heard some good things about Strivectin. I know that there are other products available for pregnant and nursing moms that some women swear by. I regret never taking the time to look into stretch mark prevention while I was pregnant. If I ever decide to have another child, I am going to do as much homework as possible on stretch mark products and prevention. I actually found a pretty good site you might want to check out: http://www.stretchmarksuniversity.com

    Just remember that pregnancy doesn’t last forever, so try to enjoy the experience and keep a journal so that you can remember what it was like.

    1. Thanks, Amanda!

      We had a boy, I’ll be updating this blog today. I have a bottle of Strivectin and I’m trying it out. I hate my stretchmarks but at the same time I’m working really hard to accept them and my new body. Its not all bad, and hubby still adores me. I just might forego bikinis from now on, sighs.

Leave a Reply

