Thrifty and Fabulous Baby Shopping

So today hubby and I went shopping for the things we still needed for the baby. As I’ve mentioned before, I go to the South Lake Pregnancy Center and get $10 for each class I go to that I can use in the maternity boutique. I’d already gotten an umbrella stroller which came in handy when my little niece came to visit, and now that I’ve gone to my 2 official baby showers, I thought it was time to use some more. We got a diaper pail, a changing pad, a breast pump and baby bouncer.  It would have cost me $36, which is ridiculously cheap, but I got it all for free. My favorite kind of shopping, it can’t be beat.

We still had a few other items on our list, so we went to Growin’ Like a Weed, a great little boutique in Clermont that specializes in lightly used baby items as well as handmade items and maternity clothes.  They had a nice selection of baby swings, which everyone insists will be my best friend when it comes to getting baby to sleep. We chose a really cute animal print one for $40, in great condition.  New ones can easily go into the $17o range, not even eBay has them this cheap, when you take shipping into account. We also got a Baby Bjorn carrier hubby felt comfortable with, since the sling carrier doesn’t convince him. We got it for $15, which isn’t bad at all. We also got a few burp clothes, one was at $0.25!

Although they did have a few diaper bags, they were too plain for my tastes, so I convinced hubby to stop at our local TJ Maxx on the way home.  We found a nice bag for $15, has the essentials, not much bells and whistles but that’s fine by me, considering I really didn’t feel like shelling out $70 for a JJ Cole bag at Babies R Us.

All in all, a very successful day of baby shopping, we spent $86 total, less than half what a new baby swing would’ve cost us. Everything except the diaper bag was pre-owned which makes it very eco-friendly as well. Babies can be expensive, but there’s no need to break the bank if you know how and where to shop!

Breast Pump
Breast Pump
Baby Bouncer
Baby Bouncer
Diaper Bag
Diaper Bag
Baby Swing
Baby Swing
Leave a Reply

