Sesame Seed Smoothie to Increase Breast Milk Supply

Delicious, Nutritious Sesame Seed Smoothie Helps Increase Breast Milk Supply

Sesame seeds are a lactogenic food, meaning they help to increase breast milk production. They are also high in calcium and healthy polyunsaturated fat, making them very nutritious besides being delicious. We’ve used them in my family for years to help with breast milk supply, and I have to say, its one of my favorite drinks anyway!  It’s just an added bonus that it has all the health benefits and make me have much more milk coming in, which allows for me to be able to pump and store the breast milk for later use.  My mother and I have tried many different variations of  this sesame seed smoothie, with water, almond milk, soy milk, coconut milk, you name it, but this version is our favorite. It’s a big hit with my husband and sisters as well, we buy the seeds in bulk at Whole Foods because even though it’s technically to help me with my breast milk production, everybody guzzles it up!

 

20111012-104614.jpg

Sesame Seed Smoothie:

You will need:

  • Sesame Seeds, any kind is fine, but we prefer organic, raw and unshelled. White sesame seeds are more easily available and very cheap if bought in bulk, but the black ones are great too.
  • The milk of your choice, we prefer almond milk, but this will work with just water, coconut milk, soymilk, cow’s milk or even goat milk. Almond milk and coconut milk, or plain water, are the best choices in this case if you really want this to help increase your breast milk supply!
  • The sweetener of your choice, again, to keep this nutritious, we recommend coconut sugar, honey, or non-bitter stevia.
  • Cinnamon, vanilla extract, ice.  I will let you know this is a thick smoothie and depending on your blender you may have smaller or larger bits of seed in there. I personally don’t mind chewing my smoothie if I have too, don’t mind pulp, but if you prefer no pulp, have a colander ready.

Ok, so now that we have all the explanations out of the way, here’s the recipe!

2 heaping tablespoons sesame seeds

10 oz almond milk

1 teaspoon coconut sugar, to taste

2-3 drops of vanilla extract

6 ice cubes

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon powder

Blend it all together till smooth.  Serve in a large, tall glass. Sprinkle some cinnamon for garnish, and enjoy!

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Sesame Seed Smoothie to Increase Breast Milk Supply

  1. Pingback: Juicing Day Three « Fab Veggie Mama

    • At least once a day, between 3-7 days you’ll see a difference in production. I’ll have it now and then to help boost mine, and also, just because I like it. So does my baby, he loves it, can’t get enough. If you are going to give it to a baby I recommend straining it first, because the pulp can be tricky for them to swallow before they’re 1 year old.

  2. Thank you. My lactation consultant has me drinking it three times per day for a week. I have an appointment tomorrow and I was hoping I could cut back a bit.

  3. Pingback: Lactogenic Sesame Shake (Raw Vegan Recipe) « Spiritual Mama

    • That’s a very good question! You can freeze it and eat it like a popsicle. All of the ingredients can be used in different ways too. Sesame seeds can be added to other drinks, used for sautéing vegetables, thrown in pancake or waffle mix, salads, dressings. Thanks for reading!

      • Wow didn’t think there were that many differents ways to use it. I wanted to make a drink out of it using water, milk and brown sugar.Do i have to boil or fry them to then make it into a drink?

  4. You don’t have to do anything to the seeds, its very easy! Some people toast them in a cast iron skillet for a few minutes, but to be honest, I don’t feel much of a difference in taste.

  5. I just stumbled upon sesame seeds really helping. I had heard about them and there is an Egyptian sweet that women eat to increase breast milk, but it has too much sugar for me. Yesterday while at an International store I found sesame seed bars with just sesame seeds and sugar and corn syrup. I had two of them as I was out and hungry. All I know is this morning I woke up really full and questioned what did I eat yesterday!!!

    Once I googled your post came up! :) Just curious, the above recipe is for one serving or more? Do you drink all of it at one shot?

    Anything else in your family that you use to increase breast milk? Do you know of anything that gives the breast milk more fat? I have a 3 month old who I’m trying to get to gain weight. She has only gained 1.5 pounds since birth.

    Thanks for your help.

    • You can actually make your own sesame candy bars with no corn syrup, just brown sugar and honey! I’ll have to post the recipe :) The sesame seed smoothie recipe is for one serving, but we usually triple it because everybody wants some in the house. We’ll fill the blender basically.

      To fatten up your milk, I’d have to do some research, but there are lots of factors to your health and diet that could be affecting it. You may want to consult with a professional lactation consultant, or a Naturopath. I’d up your probiotics, they get transferred to baby and they’re digestive system will improve, which aids in nutrient absorption and could help her gain weight.

      You can get probiotics in pills, powder, but the best comes from homemade saurkraut, homemade yogurt or kefir and homemade kombucha.

      I apparently needs to post some new stuff! Thanks for the great comments and questions everybody!

  6. Thanks so much for your reply. It is funny that you mentioned the probiotics. I had actually just finished some antibiotics for an infection and decided I should take some probiotics. I purchased some from the pharmacy and have completed about 8 days worth (started 2 days before this post) and all I can say is LO is really growing. I was just saying today how much she has grown and filling out finally. Additionally, I have been making a smoothie with avocado, banana, almond milk and a giant spoon of tahini (I haven’t went to get the fresh seeds but had this at home). I can tell a big difference in my milk amount and perhaps the quality.

    LO is still getting some special formula but only about 2 more ounces a day then she was when she was barely gaining, so I believe that it would take more than 2 ounces for her to grow like she has. I’m guessing the probiotics and tahini (pureed sesame seeds for anyone who reads this and does not know)

    Thanks and I would love the recipe for the bars or any other kind of granola-like bars you have tried and like.

    • That’s great news! So glad to hear she’s getting bigger. That smoothie is very nutritious, good for you. Tahini is great stuff, we love using it to make dressings, I love how intense it is.
      I’ll be posting the sesame seed candy recipe today :)

  7. Pingback: Sesame Seed Candy Recipe | Fab Veggie Mama

  8. Hi, to increase for breast milk, if we replace sesame seeds with sesame in powder form , does it still effective/help for breast milk production ?

    • I think it would be fine as long as the powder is raw. If its been heated or processed it wouldn’t be as effective. Great question! :)

  9. hi i am taking fried sesame, will that be effective or i need to consume raw sesame?
    i am in the 7mths of my breastfeeding. I used to have good milkflow for my 1st and 2nd babies. But my 3rd childbirth, my milkflow is not as good.

    • That’s a good question. Personally, I’d recommend trying to use the raw sesame seeds or powder. It’s also excellent in tahini form. The smoothie has the benefit that almond milk is also lactogenic and you can put more seeds in than you would typically be able to consume in a meal or salad.

      That said, breast milk is supply and demand, and we don’t need to produce gallons to provide the necessary nutrients to our babies. The body does miracles! I like to use smoothies to make sure I am properly nourished and don’t feel drained, because even if my child is getting everything he needs, I want to make sure I am too.

      I suggest also getting in contact with your local La Leche League and/or a professional lactation consultant. It’s helped me tremendously!

      Thanks for reading and I sincerely hope this helps!

      • Dear Melissa,

        Appreciate your reply below. I will try with sesame powder since it is more convenient. Hope it works well for me.

        Thank you very much for your sharing.

        B. Rgds, Yap

        Date: Fri, 6 Sep 2013 00:06:08 +0000 To: sakaiyap@hotmail.com

    • It’s worked for my mother, me and my sister, plus several of my friends. You can increase the amount of seeds in the recipe too.

  10. for Almond milk, where can get it? Can we use raw almond seed add with plain water and blend it to become almond milk. Then add with sesame seeds, cinnamon powder and other ingredients to make it as the ‘sesame seed smoothie’ to increase milk supply that you mentioned above?

    • Homemade almond milk would be perfect! I’ve never done it myself but I know friends who have and they say it’s easy. Go for it! I just buy mine at the supermarket. Almond milk disappears around here, my toddler loves it and I use it for everything but coffee. :) I’d experiment with a recipe or two till you get the consistency you like then add the smoothie ingredients.

  11. Pingback: Healthy Recipes for Breastfeeding Women | Favorite Food RecipesFavorite Food Recipes

  12. I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be exactly I’m
    looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content in
    your case? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write related to here.

    Again, awesome web site!

Leave a Reply

